Class at Hospital - "Lithium battery in ecigarettes release carcinogenics." Help me respond to this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monkey7

Mar 20, 2012
USA
Hello,

I attended a class at the hospital a few days ago. I'm a nurse and we occasionally have 'continued learning' meetings. Among the many topics covered were ecigs.

Paraphrasing slightly, the instructor (nurse) said:

'Lithium batteries in ecigarettes are known to be carcinogenic. When the lithium batteries become warm/hot, the carcinogenic fumes leak from the device and are inhaled.'

This portion of the meeting was very brief. She didn't mention any other so-called dangers and quickly moved on to another topic.

After the class, I did approach and ask if she had any literature on the topic, which she did not. That was Monday.

On Tuesday, I asked an ER MD on my shift if she knew anything about the lithium battery/ecig carcinogenic connection. She didn't, but suggested I speak with another MD (an oncologist). Yesterday, he was finally on my shift and I inquired. He stated, again paraphrasing slightly: 'If lithium batteries are heated, yes they emit carcinogens.' I followed up with ecigs specifically, to which he responded: 'If you're inhaling in close proximity to a heated lithium battery, you're breathing carcinogens' and off he went.

I went home and tried Googling anything/everything to find information on this supposed link, but came up with very little. Maybe I'm not searching accurately.

Now, let me state right now - No one can say anything that will pry my pv from my cold dead hands. But, I'm very curious now, given what I've been told this week from separate sources.

Can someone please enlighten me?