Status
Not open for further replies.

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada
I've been thinking of getting a small milling machine and metal lathe for a while now and finally bit the bullet earlier this year. I worked as a machinist building plastic injection moulds for the better part of two decades so I'm pretty comfortable with these puppies.

After getting the new machines set up, checked out and a few projects completed I thought it would be neat to make a few custom drip tips just for fun.

So I thought a bit about how to best go about making what I was after, DT's with a metal stem for durability and easily exchangeable wood or some other interesting material around them. This is what I've come up with so far ...

A DT stem with O-ring grooves in SS:
2mes3t5.jpg

Add a few O-rings and a wood sleeve on the upper part of the stem and you get this (this sleeve is stabilized maple burl dyed red, my favorite so far :) )
2i06ete.jpg

Then add sleeves at will. Left to right are hard white maple, African ebony and ziricote, none stabilized. Then the stabilized red maple burl. The three at the right are acrylic. The acrylic buffs up very easily to a nice shine and has been very durable the last few weeks, but I can see through them to the O-rings in spots so I'm not impressed with them for this design.
2v7yo7n.jpg

Finishing these with CA has been the biggest learning curve for me. I knew how to finish wood with polyurethane, shellac, varnish, etc, but those are not good options for DTs so I've been working with CA from the start. I think I'm going to stick with stabilized wood and CA now that I know how well that works and look for a few more ideas in plastic :)

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada
Beautiful work and great idea for adding variety without having to get used to a bunch of different DT's.

Thank you Lessifer :)