Will my cravings for cigarettes ever go away?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roxyco

Nov 29, 2015
Hi everyone. I'm very new to vaping and have just got into it the past 2 weeks because my friend recommended it. At first I was sceptical and didn't really see how it could work for me, so I vaped for a few minutes and then just lit up a regular cigarette. But I'm enjoying it more and more now... I've gone from smoking around 10-15 cigarettes a day to hardly any at this point. The problem is, I'm still getting cravings for regular cigarettes (especially when I'm drinking alcohol) and have had a couple here and there which disappoints me. I see people saying how they went from smoking a pack a day to 0 just like that after they discovered vaping and this just isn't happening for me. I wonder if anyone else experienced something similar to me at first, and more importantly, will this go away so I can enjoy a life without cigarettes and just be happy vaping? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! (Apologies for rambling on!) :blush:

I did just like you did and had a transitional period. For about 3 months, I still had the occasional cigarette when the itch got to me, but the periods between them got longer and longer. My mother was one of lucky ones who made the transfer instantly.

A very few people report that the craving never completely disappears (but it does get a lot more gentle). In my case, I haven't had a significant craving after about six months in, and those were pretty minor at the end. Nowadays, if I crave anything, I crave my vape. And even that's rare.

WTA liquids can help bridge that transitional period with no or fewer cigarettes, but personally? I wouldn't beat myself up over a few cigs. It's not that you smoked a few...it's that you didn't smoke a heck of a lot. A 90% reduction in your smoking rate means you're only 10% away from quitting them completely, which is really good for just starting in my book!

Roxyco

Nov 29, 2015