Las Vegas/San Francisco
You the following.

fa35246ebe90021cff24dab2d23cd2d2.jpg

dopamine1

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 12, 2014
ohio
I recently built a dual micro coil with 8 wraps each. I used 26 gauge kanthal on a 1/16 drill bit. First question is, is that ok? Im new to this stuff and im just curious. Number two, what ohms should this be coming in at? Thank you for the help!
That's definitely pretty far into sub ohm territory. You really, really should not run that build without testing it with a good multimeter or ohm reader. Depending on your batteries it could be OK, or it could be extremely dangerous. But for all you know it's a dead short and that's not safe on any battery. You need a way to measure it. Also check out the coil and power drain calculators on steam-engine.org, AFTER you have a way to check your coils resistance.

Susan~S

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 12, 2014
Mpls/St.Paul, MN
I know i have the proper mech mod and atomizer. Im running a hades mod along with a TOBH atomizer. The battery im using is a MNKE high drain IMR 26650, 3,500 mAh. I just havent had the time to purchase an ohm reader yet.
+1 on getting that ohm reader before you start using your build.

Good battery, but only 20A continuous. Your build may need a higher amp battery to give you a little headroom. I don't use 26650's but I saw this next battery on Baditudes blog below: Panasonic 26650 CGR2650A 26650mAh 50A.

Battery Basics for Mods: IMR or Protected ICR?
* choose the safest and right battery for your applications here. Includes a list of name brand, high-drain, safe-chemistry batteries with mAh & amp ratings in 18350, 18490/18500, and 18650 sizes.

Last edited:

Susan~S

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 12, 2014
Mpls/St.Paul, MN
Coiling Calculator

Here are a few links for you regarding building coils and getting the resistance just where you want it:
1. Steam Engine
2. Coil Toy Calculator