Jumping resistance on a mechanical?

Status
Not open for further replies.

poobaca

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 8, 2012
new york
I think im finally ready to get a mechanical, its been a lot of debate with myself over the last few months, but after reading as much as I could I think I wont blow my face off. Ive been building my own coils for about 6 months now and am pretty comfortable doing so. Im using a atomic clone and noticed sometimes that the one of the screws in the post will come loose. It usually happens within a few hours of me building a new coil. It'll start hitting kinda funny and then when I check the resistance its all over the place. Screw the screw back down and goes back to what it was originally.

My question is would this cause any issues on a mechanical. Meaning making the battery hot and possibly venting?

Also in another thread I was reading about shorts on a mechanical and they made it seem like if you have a short the battery will discharge. Is this true or is that only if you keep firing it with a short.

niczgreat

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 5, 2009
Chino California
When the screw loosens generally you just aren't getting a good or stable contact. That is the opposite of a short.

I would strongly suggest that you use the New Sony VTC5 if you have fears about shorts or Resistance Issues. That is one solid performer.

I've seen a Atomizer screwed in incorrectly cause a mechanical to continue to short circuit until the bottom tube was unscrewed and I had a mechanical that I was repairing and the screw fell down and made a bridge that wouldn't stop shorting. But those were flukes.

Generally if you have a short and you stop pressing the button, the mechanical will stop firing.