ni200 temp control.....need help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm fairly new to vaping and I just received a Halo Reactor Mini as a gift with a .5 subohm ni200 coil. I've been reading around and found that for the nickel coils, it's dangerous to vape in wattage mode bc nickel overheats quickly. I'm just confused on what I should actually set my temp at? What temp is too hot for .5 subohm nickel coils?

APathos

ECF Veteran
Jul 16, 2016
CA USA
github.com
Just start at somewhere like 380F and increase till it's where you want it. My temp varies per juice. 380F-480F depending.

Yes, ni200 is not for wattage mode. It's used for TC because as it heats up, it's resistance changes along a known temp/resistance curve. So your mod basically knows what the temp of the coil is because it can read the resistance.

Imfallen_Angel

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 10, 2016
Ottawa area, Canada
Temp. control (TC) is a two tier thing.

Let's give you proper info:

First note: NI and TI if heated too hot will oxidize, and particles can start coming off the coil, and if you breath those in, it is very harmful, so never use either types without TC.

Second note:TC prevents the coils from heating up higher and higher as wattage mode does... once it reaches your set parameters, it stops the power and pulses to maintain the coils at your settings.

The two tiers thing: 1) Wattage is how much power you're applying and causes how fast the coil heats up. 2) the temperature set is what determines this power output to the coil using calculations from the changes in the resistance of the metal (ohms).