Public Vaping Nervousness

Status
Not open for further replies.

CyanideKitty

Mar 28, 2012
Milwaukee, WI
I'm sure this sounds totally stupid but I get nervous when I vape inside public places. While I'm pretty sure Wisconsin has no laws against indoor public vaping, it still makes me nervous to vape inside a restaurant or bar. There are a couple of bars I feel comfortable doing it at. One I used to go to all the time, the other is the one I go to on those extremely rare occasions when I do go out now. I'm new to vaping, a month and a half, so I'm wondering will the nervousness go away in time, the more I do it, etc?

sailorman

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jun 5, 2010
Podunk, FLA
Hi and Welcome!

It's not at all a stupid question. I wish more newbies would ask. Yes, it should go away, but for some it never does. It helps if you're not vaping something that looks like a cigarette. You have to get over the idea that you're smoking. Some people have a hard time with that and feel like they're doing something wrong and vape in the smoking areas and generally sneak around. That convinces people that vaping is just like smoking, and we vapers don't need that.

Most people will just be curious, especially if they don't think they know what you're doing (again, a non-cig PV helps). Some might ask you, so just take the opportunity to inform them. That's one less person to support a vaping ban in your city or state. Carry some cards, like from CASAA that explains what an e-cig is. Avoid the use of the word cigarette. Call it a vaporizer and explain how you quit smoking with it. The word cigarette has bad connotations for non-smokers and that's who we need on our side. Never slip up and say you're "smoking an e-cigarette". That's the worse thing to say.