Status
Not open for further replies.

kj4lxw

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 8, 2010
Pinellas, FL
I got an external hard drive (Acclaim Verbatim 320G).

I have been wanting for a long while to back up files for just in case my pc or whatever dies on me.

So here's my sitrep.

My experience falls to basically using thumb drives and saving individual files. Should I just save the files that I don't want to lose or back up the drives on my PC and laptop?

The unit I got came with a Nero Backup program, I am always leery of using "free" programs, should I or shouldn't I use this program? Any others that can be suggested or is there some thing built into my PC (XP OS) that will do the job?

I'm no beginner with PC's but I'm not an expert either, so will appreciate any help I can get:)

Sallana

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 4, 2010
the North Pole
www.lynnekirsch.com
Imho its just easier to drag and drop whatever you want to back up onto USB drive.......Really just back up your profile under documents and settings and that'll have the majority of ur documents, desktop icons, favorites, etc just about all the stuff u need

I ditto this

Sallana

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 4, 2010
the North Pole
www.lynnekirsch.com
Well I would like to also have programs I am using saved too. Is this possible with what I have?

You can back up the .exe if you still have it. But unless these programs have internal data that can't be made external, you can just re-install them should your system crash. I usually back up the .exe's... just because, then they are all right there and I don't have to visit the various web sites and download them, etc

Superbals

ECF Veteran
If you can I suggest using norton ghost to make a mirror of the drive as it currently is. that way it backs everything up completely. and put that backup on the external hdd.