The definition of terms used... "analog" and "vaping"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Craterz

Oct 8, 2013
SC, USA
I don't really understand the term "analog" when referring to cigarettes. Maybe it's because I'm an electronic engineer for too many years that I care to share, I'm also a guitar/bass musician for almost as long. When I think of "analog" I think of LP's or cassette's, that is vinyl albums or magnetic tape format. Not the digital media that is so prevalent these days (CD's, DVD's, etc.). What I don't understand is the reference to actual cigarettes as "analog" as compared to e-cigs? Actually, both are "analog" in a sense. One just utilizes natural process of "slow-burning" tobacco, whereas the other uses a vaporizing electrical process via a DC power source and various natural (or otherwise) chemicals. Yet is still an "analog" process, that is, a liquid vaporized by an electrical coil. Not something new, really, and a "analog" process at that.

So what's the difference in terms? Is it just a "term"? Or is there something I am missing?

Just curious ;)

Craterz

Oct 8, 2013
SC, USA
Perhaps I'm just being too critical of the term! ;)

Like comparing an VOM to a new multi-meter. Not quite the same. Like comparing an old Simpson to a Fluke? Maybe I'm just dating myself ;) HaHa! That is if anyone remembers an old Simpson multi-meter as compared to the modern Fluke multimeters. Or, being the musician that I am, analog "tube" mixing boards as compared to ProTools digital mixing technology.

jericoriver

Please support CASAA
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 28, 2009
Midway,Ga.
That was what I was meaning to compare. I've used old simpsons and do now use a fluke.
Perhaps I'm just being too critical of the term! ;)