Which battery charger to use??

Status
Not open for further replies.

mainard462

Aug 13, 2015
Dallas Texas
There appears to be a lot of options for battery chargers.

I'm new to vaping. Bout a month in so far. I'm interested in moving into sub-ohm. Decided on getting the kangertech subox kit. Going to start with 1.2 ohm coils for now and work my way down eventually. I'll be using the Samsung 18650 25R 2500mah batteries (qty 2). Which charger should I be using?? Will any charger work? I'd like to get a 2 bay charger for right now. I'm reading about efest LUC chargers... efest BIO chargers... Nitecore Digicharger or Intellicharger?? I'm not entirely sure what these mean? I'd like to know which would be best for the type of batteries I'm using.

Thanks in advance!

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
My general advice: buy a brand name charger for Li-Ion/IMR batteries.

Get the best charger that you can reasonably afford from a reputable e-cig vendor (RTD Vapor, Illumn, Orbtronics). Statistically most battery incidents occur while batteries are charging. A higher end charger will have better built-in protections. Some will have built-in voltage meters which are pratical/useful, but not a necessity.

Pila, Xtar, Nitecore, and Efest are the most recommended brands. I recommend batteries be charged on a flame-resistant surface: stove top, marble countertop, metal baking pan, pyrex glass dish. Do not charge batteries if you are not physically present to keep an eye on them.

Many of today's higher-end box chargers have "intelligent" technology designed for the charger to shut down when the battery reaches full voltage (4.2 volts), however electronics can and do fail. Don't trust the safety of your home & family to a faulty electronic circuit or charging cord.

Rest batteries after charging