good-bye analogs... hello depression

Status
Not open for further replies.

CharityRoyal

ECF Veteran
Jan 6, 2012
Michigan
I know this has been posted many times before, but I'm a newb (restricted to this forum) and thought I'd post anyway. For moral support if nothing else.

So-- I've been off analogs for two weeks. I've quit cold turkey many times in the past... one of the things that kept pulling me back in was horrible depression and anxiety that came with withdrawal. vaping has eliminated most the nasty withdrawal symptoms, including the crippling anxiety. But not depression. I assume this is MAO-I related... and I've thought about using Snus or something of the like to supplement my ecigs... but I've decided it's probably smarter to just let this depression run its course. It's got to go away eventually right?

It's funny, I don't even want a normal cig (don't like the taste or experience much anymore)--- but sometimes I'm tempted to buy a pack just to alleviate symptoms. You know, like smoking an analog the way you choke down nasty tasting cough syrup to alleviate a cough. But this sucks. At least now when I refuse to leave my bed I can still get nicotine. sigh.

wish me luck.

brandontrjn

ECF Veteran
Oct 16, 2011
Tampa!
The depression is likely an underlying condition that was alleviated by smoking (degree in psychology talking). You should see a physician and get some mild meds that will "more healthily" decrease the symptoms. Withdraw symptoms are usually irritability, not depression.

If you are suffering from legitimate depression it is more likely to be a long-term problem. There isn't any point in laying in bed all day unable to do anything when an inexpensive prescription can alleviate the symptoms with little or no side effects.

Welcome to ECF!

Suncruiser

Sep 23, 2011
northeast