Greetings and toxicology

Status
Not open for further replies.

someone3x7

ECF Veteran
Aug 17, 2012
Spanaway, WA
Greetings. I understand I have to find 5 reasons to post in this newbie forum. So here goes the first... I've been vaping for a couple months now and have been doing a lot of research on the subject. I discovered this site a bit ago and have done a fair amount of reading here. I suspect that posts here have lead to 50% of what I know, although much of it indirectly. You all have given me enough to understand what I want to find. Thank you.

Most recently, I have been researching the potential for harm in ingredients and methods harm reduction. This is because I want to start mixing my own liquids. I am a fairly intelligent person. I understand measurements and enough chemistry to follow a scientists notes. Originally, I was under the impression that Propylene Glycol was as safe as water and that Glycerine should be used in with more moderation. Just today I discovered that everything I thought I knew about Propylene Glycol and Vegetable Glycerin was wrong. A relatively new study, mentioned at CSPNet (here) on July 10, 2012, compared nicotine vaporizing to tobacco smoking. This study may confirm that Electronic Cigarettes are much healthier than smoking tobacco, but, not without risk. Along with 6 volatile organics normally found in tobacco (which has 36) they also found trace amounts formaldehyde was being released from the liquid as it heats up. A german scientist involved in the study stated it was likely from the Propylene Glycol. Then went on to recommend using Glycerine as a complete replacement for the base mixture. After a little digging I did find that Glycerine contains no formaldehyde releasers.