The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

Questions about Stainless steel wire.

Discussion in 'General Vaping Discussion' started by Andromendous, Jun 8, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Andromendous

Andromendous Super Member ECF Veteran

Jul 12, 2014
    Oklahoma, USA
    Hi all, I finally bought some 316L and have been tinkering with my serpent mini. I did a 24g spaced coil, i think 8 wrap 2.5mm id, anyway.

I have a few concerns already. Now, i know SS can be dry burned, but to what extent? I've been trying some temp control and i am still learning how to wick the serpent mini, so after about 3 trys of dry burning and rewicking the last time i noticed a bit of a metallic taste.

I took the tank off and the wick seemed saturated so its not that. I went into my bathroom and turned out the lights so i could fire it and see if there was any glowing, i blew on the coil while i fired it. Well it took me about 3 fires for a good few seconds until i saw it start to glow.

Anyway i took out the wick and dry fired again and noticed the same metallic smell that i seemed to be tasting. Do you think im just dry firing it too much? Just to note, it came out to .27 and vaped from 30-35 watts, i lowered it to 20 watts when dry firing.

2. kbeam418

kbeam418 Super Member ECF Veteran

Mar 5, 2015
    Toledo,Oh
    Honestly, there isn't enough research to tell for sure. I dry burn mine but I don't dry burn after I rinse the coil off, I noticed a residue every time I do.

3. daviedog

daviedog Vaping Master ECF Veteran

Sep 2, 2013
    Florida
    i've used 26 & 28 gauge ss316 for 6 months with no metallic smell. i dry fire the same as kanthal in power/tc modes. who made it?

4. Andromendous

Jul 12, 2014
    Oklahoma, USA
    Temco