Ulcers anyone?

Status
Not open for further replies.

leaford

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
May 1, 2008
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
If you mean cold sores, those are viral. Not caused by e-cigs unless that's how you caught the virus (by sharing a mouthpiece). The infection is a mild form of herpes, so it comes and goes. The cold sore you get today isn't really new, it's likely the same infection as last time, and the time before, and so on. It was just hiding and came back. Although I suppose since PG dries out the tissues in the mouth and throat, it could prompt or at least enable an outbreak of an existing infection.

But of course I'm not a doctor, so what do I know? :D

momswann

ECF Veteran
Nov 13, 2008
Virginia, USA
If you mean cold sores, those are viral. Not caused by e-cigs unless that's how you caught the virus (by sharing a mouthpiece). The infection is a mild form of herpes, so it comes and goes. The cold sore you get today isn't really new, it's likely the same infection as last time, and the time before, and so on. It was just hiding and came back. Although I suppose since PG dries out the tissues in the mouth and throat, it could prompt or at least enable an outbreak of an existing infection.

Mouth ulcers are not the same as the herpes virus you are talking about. I, too, have gotten some mild mouth ulcers since vaping. Herpes sores usually tingle before breakout and people who get them can tell they are getting them. Can be brought on by stress, sun, illness etc. Just like genital herpes. Also, are usually on the outside of the mouth, around the lips.

scrubadub

ECF Veteran
Oct 12, 2008
London, UK
Yes I've had them as well. I'm not overly concerned by them though. The booklet that came with my Nicorette Inhalator has this line in it:

"When you stop smoking, you may experience mouth ulcers. The reason why this happens is unknown."

So it sounds like something specific to quitting rather than e-cigs in particular.