Emphysema

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mamba

Jun 19, 2008
U.S.A.
If I remember correctly I think at least one member on here has asthma. Do a search on asthma or emphysema. It certainly seems like e-smoking might be worth a shot to maybe give his lungs a break. At the point he's at I personally don't see how it could possibly do more harm than continuing to smoke and it might possibly help. But I'm no doctor so see if he's interested and ask his doctor if it's worth a try. If he does try it let us know the results.

My father-in-law (now deceased) smoked for 71 years and died at the age of 87. He had no noticeable symptoms of emphysema or laryngeal cancer until the last year of his life. He was also a heavy drinker, ate horribly and never exercised. 71 years of smoking got him but he didn't suffer nearly as bad as some people I knew who didn't smoke. I thinks it's all a genetic crap-shoot. We should all hope we got good genes. :)

Gunny

ECF Veteran
Jun 3, 2008
Las Vegas, NV
Well, I have been smoking for about 45 years now. I use an albuterol nebulizer almost daily. I "smoked" about 25 cigarettes a day. I could not climb up 1 flite of stairs without hyperventolating. I have not been diagnosed with emphysema, but fairly sure the possibility is there. I also have asthma. My wife does have emphysema.:(

I have been using e cig for just about 1 month now. I still use the albuterol nebulizer frequently, but now just to help expel garbage from my lungs. I still smoke about 5 cigarettes a day and hope to reduce that to 0. I can climb a flite of stairs and just be a little out of breath now (300+lbs is still a load to carry). My breathing is much better now & my wife who hasn't smoked for over 3 years now is even breathing better with out all my 2nd hand smoke in the house.:cool: