Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnnie Price

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 18, 2012
Waldorf, MD
Several people seem to be getting confused about the differences in battery types when it comes to 808's, and it's no wonder considering the many different models out there. So I figured I'd try to put together a little guide explaining the various battery types out there to hopefully clear up some confusion. most of this information has been gleaned through reading many posts in this forum and a little web searching. I'm still new at this myself, so please feel free to correct me or add anything i may have missed.

The DSE-901/KR808D-1

302DB.jpg

These are the stick batteries that most of us started out with. Okay, so the 901 and 808 are 2 different batteries, but the Generation 1 automatic and manual 808 batteries will work with 901 atomizers. I've been told Generation 2 automatic batteries generally will not work with 901 equipment due to air flow restrictions. A Generation 1 battery has a hole through the center of the battery connector to allow air to flow through the battery tube. The air flow is what activates the automatic battery so that it will fire and heat your atomizer. A Generation 2 battery still has holes through the battery connector for air flow. However, Generation 2 batteries have a bridge over the battery connector and the air holes have been made smaller and moved to the sides to better protect the battery from damage due to leakage from the atomizer. The design of the Generation 2 battery leads many companies to market them as sealed, but to the best of my knowledge it isn't truly sealed unless it's a manual battery. Since I've never used a Generation 2 automatic, this is all based on hearsay on my part.