How Long Does Your Rayon Wick Last?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gentle Smoke

Jan 31, 2019
Forgive me but, I don't want to read through 2000 posts to find the answer. Last night I read a post that said his wick lasted 100 ml (I'll bet ya he changes his socks once a week). I am a rayon wicking novice but, I've got the basics down (tight in the coils, thin in the tails) and am wicking a Dead Rabbit RTA, 3mm id coils. Generally I get dripping wet clouds at the start but, 5 ml in and performance drops off. At this point my coils start to crackle so I'm assuming the rayon has shrunk. Just the same, how long does your wick last?

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I always found it best to use more Rayon than if I was using cotton. Rayon does shrink during use, hense using more at the beginning. Because it seems to wick easier than cotton, I used plenty of volume in the tails (unlike you).

I never measured by liquid volume to gauge how long Rayon lasted compared to cotton. It just seemed to last longer than cotton did.

Having said that, I haven't used rebuildables much for a couple of years. I only use my dripper on the rare occasions I go to the vape shop to sample flavors.

Brewdawg1181

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 30, 2017
Metro ATL
There are several ways to consider it. But the way I look at it, for the way I vape- I have to rebuild because the coil fouls and needs to be replaced or cleaned...before the wick reaches end of useful life anyway. So no matter what, both last as long as they need to.