PG is bad for people with kidney disorders (I can no longer vape in the house)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vaposue

ECF Veteran
Feb 11, 2010
Orlando
Prostreet, I can understand your fear right now. I have worked with dialysis patients for over 16 years. I believe Katattack is correct. Inhalation is not the problem. It's the intravenous delivery of the PG. Dyes used in medical testing (heart caths for example) are toxic to the kidneys and sometimes cause the kidneys to shut down. Talk to your wife's nephrologist about your use of PV. He/she should be able to provide you with the correct information and set your mind at ease with regards to your vaping. Please send me a pm if you want to ask me anything about kidney disease or your wife's issues. I will gladly help you out any way I can. I am a renal social worker. I'll be thinking about you.

taz3cat

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Nov 2, 2008
Port Arthur, Texas
I highly recommend that you read the labels on all OTC medications such as Tylenol, read the ingredients in your Prescription medications, Cake mixes, ice cream, baby teething products, nasal spays, eye drops and body lotions/shampoos/conditions. The FDA approves the use of PG in some form or another they used Glycol and Glycerol to fool us. The FDA still tells us they don't know how safe it is DUH. In 1985 or about that time is was guesstimated that we consumed about 35ml of PG per person in this country. The FDA still calls it antifreeze, what a farce. There are by-product that have to be filtered out of PG when they make it and the FDA just made the rules stricter on this after they did their report on E-cigarettes.

AlexTM

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Dec 7, 2009
Cologne, Germany
www.dampfzeichen.de
PG is not Glycerol (VG is), and only one of many Glycols. And actually, PG itself is an anti-freeze. So is salt, for that matter.